Service Award

ISIR depends upon the goodwill and expertise of those people who volenteer their time to promote the goals of the organization. Many of these people have performed invaluable service over a number of years both in official roles and in providing help whenever needed. In order to recognize the outstanding contributions to the operation of the Society ISIR has created a meritorious service award. Recipients of the award are publicly recognized at the International Symposium. Prior to each symposium he Secretary General prepares a list of potential recepients based on the received nomination lists. The Executive Committee determines if there is to be an award, if so, who will receive it.


The 2022 Service Award went to

Joachim Arts, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Robert Boute, KU Leuven, Belgium

Gudrun Kiesmüller, Technical University of Munich, Germany


The 2018 Service Award went to

†Johannes Fichtinger, WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria

Aris Syntetos, Cardiff University, UK

Yacine Rekik, EMLYON Business School, France


The 2016 Service Award went to

Avijit Banerjee, Drexel University, USA

Hiroaki Ishii, Osaka University, Japan

Sandra Transchel, Kuehne Logistics University, Germany


The 2014 Service Award went to

Gerald Reiner, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland

Soren Glud Johansen, University of Aarhus, Denmark


The 2012 Service Award went to

Refik Güllü, Bogazici University, Turkey

Geert-Jan van Houtum, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands


The 2010 Service Award went to

Karl Inderfurth (University of Magdeburg, Germany) has been a regular participant of the Symposium since 1994. He was a member of the Executive Committee for two terms between 1994 and 2002. He has been instrumental in helping the succcessful operation of ISIR in several ways, including presentations, chairmanship and refereeing.

Imre Dobos (Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary) attended his first symposium in 1988. Ever since then he has been providing invaluable assistance in every possible ways to ISIR: as speaker, session chairman, organizer, referee etc. We can always rely on him, when some high quality job must be made with real urgency.


The 2008 Service Award went to

Owen Irvine, Michigan State University, USA

Lucio Zavanella, Universitá degli Studi di Brescia, Italy


The 2006 Service Award went to

Stefan Minner, University of Mannheim, Germany. Has been an attendant of a number of ISIR symposia. He has done a lot for increasing the visibility of ISIR and served in several functions (referee, chairman etc.). Organized and managed a highly successful ISIR Summer School in Mannheim, 2005.

Timo Pirttilä, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland. Has been an attendant of the ISIR symposia from the very beginning. He was a member of the ISIR EC in two terms. He has been very active in maintaining a strong Finnish participation at the Symposia by bringing his students and other colleagues to the meetings.


The 2004 Service Award went to

Danuta Kisperska-Moron and Ton de Kok

University of Economics, Poland -Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

It was the fifth time that ISIR, in order to recognize the considerable contributions of some colleagues to ISIR over a number of years, presented Service Awards at the Banquet of the 2004 Symposium to two ISIR members. Their ISIR careers are rather similar: Both colleagues have been active in ISIR for many years, served or serve in the Executive Committee and have played key roles in the ISIR Symposia and other events and fields of operation.


The 2002 Service Award went to

Roger M. Hill (United Kingdom): He attended the ISIR Symposium first in 1990 and since then he has been regular participant, speaker, referee, chairman. He organized the Fourth ISIR Summer School in Exeter in 1999 with great success and edited the proceedings of the school. He is an esteemed member of the ISIR community and helps spreading the fame and good principles of our Society.

Sotirios Papachristos (Greece): He attended the ISIR Symposium first in 1990 and since then he has been regular participant, speaker, referee, chairman. He organized the Third ISIR Summer School in Ioannina in 1997 with great success and edited the proceedings of the school. He is an esteemed member of the ISIR community and helps spreading the fame and good principles of our Society.


The 2000 Service Award went to
Sven Axsäter (Sweden): He has participated in almost all ISIR Symposia, serving as Speaker, Chairman, Referee every time. It can be also said regardingthe ISIR Summer Schools. He was president 1996-1998. He has brought a large number of his students to the meetings.

Moheb Ghali (USA): He was participant of the very first ISIR Symposium in 1980 and since then he has been present at almost all occasions. He has served as Speaker, Chairman, Referee every time. He was also a speaker at the ISIR Summer Schools. He has been on the Executive Committee in several terms. He has organized a successful inventory session at the ASSA Meetings.


The 1998 Service Award went to

Marija and Ludvig Bogataj (Slovenia), who were regular participants of the ISIR Symposia, with high level papers. They organized a successful ISIR Summer School, followed with a two volume publication. Served as chairpersons, referees at most Symposia.

Hans-Joachim Girlich (Germany), who was regular participant of the ISIR Symposia, always with remarkable papers. He was the initiator of the ISIR Summer Schools and organizer of the first such school. He held various offices in ISIR, including EC membership.

Edward A. Silver (Canada), who was a frequent participant of ISIR Symposia.

He served as President 1994-96, President-Elect 1992-94, Immediate Past President 1996-98.


The award was first presented in 1996 and went to

Robert W. Grubbström (Sweden), who was ISIR President in 1990-1992. He has established and maintained contact with Elsevier, making it possible to publish the Proceedings of the Symposia. He participated in all Symposia and ISIR Summer Schools.

Peter Kelle (Hungary & USA), who was extremely helpful in starting and maintaining the operation of the Secretariat in Budapest. He has been during the years probably the most active volunteer helping in everyday matters. He was on the local organizing committee of most Symposia and attended seven of them.

Michael C. Lovell (USA), who was ISIR President in 1992-1994. He did a tremendous job in advertising ISIR in the USA and among fellow economists all over the world. He has organized an ISIR conference in honour of Tom Whitin in 1987 and arranged a whole series of annual ISIR sessions at the Allied Social Science Associations Meetings.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.